Digital Human Agency to Counter Deepfakes

Today, disinformation and online propaganda are more misleading and manipulative than ever. Their spread on social media platforms is far from being contained, let alone stopped.

Deepfakes are a particular form of disinformation that leverages machine-learning algorithms to create audio and video of real people saying and doing things they never said or did. They risk soon to undermine our perceptions of what the truth is and threaten democracy. The technology is moving so quickly toward being indistinguishable from reality that it is posing alarming risks to the legitimacy of online information. Further, the potential deepfake detection solutions, no matter how good they get, will not prevent every single deepfake from getting circulated. Meanwhile, youth are increasingly exposed to deepfakes and educators are striving to find ways to help youth develop an eagle eye for disinformation.

This study is funded by the Joint Initiative for Digital Citizen Research between Canadian Heritage and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC). It explores youth digital agency as one strategy for counterbalancing deepfakes while the big tech giants and researchers in AI and related fields are hard-working to contain disinformation, which will not happen in a snap-of-a-finger.

Objectives

Examine how youth construe the deepfake phenomenon

Describe how youth recognize disinformation and determine how its content is created, the audience it’s targeting, the reaction it’s trying to achieve, and who is responsible for it

Explain how youth perceive their role and responsibility in counterbalancing disinformation

Discuss potential digital strategies that youth would use to counterbalance disinformation

Identify the catalysts and inhibitors to youth’s agency to counterbalance disinformation

Develop recommendations to guide educators, curriculum developers and policy-makers in their quest to promote students’ critical thinking and digital agency in the context of disinformation powered by unethical uses of digital media, big data, and artificial intelligence, and spread through social media propaganda

This study will develop a better understanding of the influence of deepfake on youth’s everyday life and initiate a novel methodological approach to conducting qualitative research related to countering online disinformation.

The findings could guide:

  • Educators, social workers, curriculum developers, and policy-makers in the design of training programs that help youth become effective digital citizens and develop their skills to assess the validity of online information, namely the ones malignantly circulating on their social media platforms such as deepfakes and to withstand manipulation, regardless of its source
  • Researchers and practitioners who are concerned with the influence of deepfakes and disinformation on Canada’s ethical and responsible election processes in the years to come, as the technology becomes more and more sophisticated and the deepfakes almost undetectable

Reseachers and Collaborators

Research Assistants

Grant

Actif – Agentivité numérique pour contrecarrer la désinformation sous forme d’hypertrucage

Aujourd’hui, la désinformation est plus trompeuse et manipulatrice que jamais. Les deepfakes ou hypertrucages, une forme particulière de désinformation qui utilise des algorithmes d’apprentissage automatique pour créer des enregistrements audio et vidéo de personnes réelles disant et faisant des choses qu’elles n’ont jamais dites ou faites, risquent de saper rapidement notre perception de la vérité. Les jeunes sont de plus en plus exposés à la désinformation et les éducateurs s’efforcent de trouver des moyens pour aider les jeunes à développer un œil aiguisé pour la détecter.

Cette étude, subventionnée dans le cadre de l’Initiative conjointe pour la recherche en matière de citoyenneté numérique, une initiative conjointe du ministère du Patrimoine canadien et du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH), explorera l’agentivité numérique des jeunes comme une stratégie pour contrebalancer les hypertrucages. 

Objectifs

Examiner comment les jeunes interprètent le phénomène de l’hypertrucage

Décrire comment les jeunes reconnaissent la désinformation et déterminent comment son contenu est créé, le public qu’il cible, la réaction qu’il essaie d’obtenir et qui en est responsable

Expliquer comment les jeunes perçoivent leur rôle et leur responsabilité dans la lutte contre la désinformation

Discuter des stratégies numériques potentielles que les jeunes pourraient utiliser pour contrer la désinformation

Identifier les catalyseurs et les inhibiteurs des jeunes pour contrebalancer la désinformation

Élaborer des recommandations pour guider les éducateurs, les concepteurs de programmes éducatifs et les décideurs dans leur quête pour promouvoir la pensée critique et l’agentivité numérique des étudiants dans le contexte d’une désinformation alimentée par des utilisations non éthiques des médias numériques, des données massives et de l’intelligence artificielle, et diffusée sur les médias sociaux

Cette étude permettra de mieux comprendre l’influence du deepfake (hypertrucage malveillant) sur la vie des jeunes et d’initier une nouvelle approche méthodologique pour mener des recherches qualitatives liées à la lutte contre la désinformation en ligne.

Les résultats pourraient guider:

  • les éducateurs, les travailleurs sociaux, les concepteurs de programmes d’études et les décideurs dans la conception de programmes de formation qui aident les jeunes à devenir des citoyens numériques efficaces et à développer leurs compétences pour évaluer la validité des informations en ligne, notamment celles qui circulent de manière malveillante sur leurs plateformes de médias sociaux comme les deepfakes, et pour résister à la manipulation, quelle que soit sa source
  • les chercheurs et les praticiens qui s’inquiètent de l’influence des deepfakes et de la désinformation sur les processus électoraux éthiques et responsables du Canada dans les années à venir, alors que la technologie devient de plus en plus sophistiquée et les deepfakes presque indétectables.

Publications

Infocalypse : la propagation des hypertrucages menace la société

Chercheurs et collaborateurs

Auxiliaires de recherche

Subvention