Completed – Digital Inequity of Immigrant Students in the Context of the COVID-19 Pandemic

Objective

Examine the effect of COVID-19 on the digital equity and equitable training of immigrant students and their integration and inclusion in the Canadian society in an e-learning context

Summary

The COVID-19 pandemic has disrupted all aspects of teaching and learning in higher education institutions. Existing inequities have been exacerbated and new forms have emerged. The purpose of this systematic review is to focus on two groups of university students already considered vulnerable or disadvantaged, namely immigrant and international students. It presents the effect of the COVID-19 pandemic on already existing inequalities among these groups and the new forms it has produced. This review also discusses the various strategies that have been put in place to address inequalities among these student groups.

The results of this review demonstrate that while the transition to online courses has allowed immigrant and international students to complete their courses, this transition has highlighted already existing digital inequalities.  The pandemic also negatively affected their financial status, mental health, and social inclusion. Chinese students have faced xenophobic attitudes, and many have been victims of discrimination and verbal assaults.

It is important to note that there is a limited number of studies that address the inequalities experienced by international and immigrant students in Canada during the COVID-19 period. In addition, international students, hard hit by the pandemic socially and economically due to their immigration status, are not included in the list of vulnerable groups as described by the World Health Organization.

Report

Intern

Eddens Firmé

Research Training Award

Complété – Inégalités numériques des étudiants immigrants dans le contexte de la pandémie de la COVID-19

Objectif

Examiner l’effet de la COVID-19 sur l’équité numérique et la formation équitable des étudiants immigrants ainsi que leur intégration et leur inclusion dans la société canadienne dans un contexte d’apprentissage en ligne.

Résumé

La pandémie de la COVID-19 a perturbé tous les aspects de l’enseignement et de l’apprentissage dans les établissements d’enseignement supérieur. Des iniquités existantes ont été exacerbées et de nouvelles formes ont émergé. L’objectif de cette revue systématique est de se pencher sur deux groupes d’étudiants universitaires déjà considérés comme vulnérables ou désavantagés, soit les étudiants immigrants et les étudiants internationaux. Elle présente l’effet de la pandémie de la COVID-19 sur les inégalités déjà existantes chez ces groupes et les nouvelles formes qu’elle a produites. Cette revue discute également des différentes stratégies mises en place pour remédier aux inégalités au sein de ces groupes d’étudiants.

Les résultats de cette revue systématique démontrent que bien que la transition des cours en ligne ait permis aux étudiants immigrants et internationaux de compléter leurs cours, ce passage a mis en évidence les inégalités numériques déjà existantes.  La pandémie a aussi affecté négativement leur situation financière, leur santé mentale, et leur inclusion sociale. Des étudiants chinois ont fait face à des attitudes xénophobes et plusieurs ont été victimes de discrimination et d’agressions verbales.

Il est important de signaler qu’un nombre restreint d’études aborde les inégalités vécues par les étudiants internationaux et immigrants au Canada pendant la période de la COVID-19. En plus, les étudiants internationaux, durement touchés par la pandémie sur les plans social et économique en raison de leur statut d’immigration, ne sont pas inclus dans la liste des groupes vulnérables tels que décrits par l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé.

Rapport

Stagiaire

Bourse de formation à la recherche