Understanding the Infodemia Generated by the COVID-19 Crisis: an Integrated Approach to Combating Disinformation in Complex Environments

In the context of the current pandemic, information is overabundant, generating a complex environment in which consumers – as much as information producers and disseminators – are vulnerable to decisional biases and disinformation, defined as false information that does not engage malicious/strategic original intent (Wardle, 2019).

By considering cognitive, affective, and collective/social dimensions, this cross-sectoral research program (i.e, Humanities, Education Sciences, Science and Engineering, Nursing, Social Sciences), funded by the Vice Rectorate for Research, Creation and Innovation at Laval University, focuses on disinformation from information processing stemming from public health policies (e.g., information about the health of the population, the health care system, the health care system’s role in the health of the population, the health care system’s role in the health care system, etc.), adherence to preventive measures, vaccination policies, vaccine replacement therapies, etc.) and brought forward due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Objectives

Through an empirical approach that combines automated content analysis, personal construct analysis, human subject experimentation, computer simulation, and serious games:

  • Get a better understanding of disinformation in an infodemic context
  • Measure its impacts on decision making in order to
  • Propose solutions to foster the development of 21st-century skills (e.g., adaptability, complex thinking, critical thinking, creative problem identification and solving) empowering humans to better understand and manage disinformation from complex informational environments

Lead Researcher

Researchers and Collaborators

Fabio Armando Naranjo Salazar

Grant

Comprendre l’infodémie générée par la crise de la COVID-19 : une approche intégrée pour lutter contre la désinformation dans des environnements complexes

Dans le contexte de l’actuelle pandémie, l’information est surabondante, générant un environnement complexe dans lequel les consommateurs – tout autant que les producteurs et disséminateurs d’information – sont vulnérables aux biais décisionnels et à la désinformation, définie comme de l’information fausse n’engageant pas une intention de départ malveillante/stratégique (Wardle, 2019).

En tenant compte des dimensions cognitives, affectives et collectives/sociales, ce programme de recherche intersectoriel (c.-à-d., Lettres et sciences humaines, Sciences de l’éducation, Sciences et génie, Sciences infirmières, Sciences sociales), subventionné par le Vice-rectorat à la recherche, à la création et à l’innovation à l’Université Laval, s’intéresse à la désinformation provenant du traitement de l’information issu des politiques de santé publique (p. ex., adhésion aux mesures préventives, politiques de vaccination, traitements substitutifs au vaccin, etc.) et mise de l’avant en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19.

Objectifs

À travers une démarche empirique qui combine l’analyse de contenu automatisée, l’analyse des construits personnels, l’expérimentation avec sujets humains, la simulation par ordinateur et le jeu sérieux :

  • Mieux comprendre la désinformation dans un contexte d’infodémie
  • En mesurer les impacts sur la prise de décision, et ce, afin de
  • Proposer des solutions pour favoriser le développement de compétences du 21e siècle (p. ex., adaptabilité, pensée complexe, pensée critique, identification et résolution de problèmes de manière créative) habilitant l’humain à mieux comprendre et gérer la désinformation issue d’environnements informationnels complexes.

Chercheur principal

Chercheurs et collaborateurs

Fabio Armando Naranjo Salazar

Subvention